I Will Not Be Moved…

Last week my my mom, brother and sister-in-law all met me at the zoo with my girls for a fun outing.    Now I typically avoid outings with my brother and his wife, well because I don’t know them.  Now I know you’re wondering how I don’t “know” my brother.  Well, 12yrs ago I was 16 and my brother was 19 and he had just finished broadcasting school and I came home from school and his room was cleared out.  He moved to another state where his ex-wife (girlfriend at the time) lived.  We never had a good relationship, but I tried reaching out calling him for help with my homework because he’s literally a genius and I struggled to maintain a B average.  He never wanted to help me, he then joined the military and then last year his contract was bought out and he moved back to Ohio.  So, long story short we don’t know each other as “adults”.  His wife is younger than me, and she is recluse and doesn’t seem to have any desire to bond and get to know each other.  I’ve spent the last year bending over backwards with them trying to get to know them and just been closed out so I’m done  trying for now.

So, I was raised in a Baptist home.  I am still to this day proud of being Baptist.  I like tradition, well, like is an understatement.  I love tradition.  I feel like Baptist churches are slowly fading away because people are starting to go to “happy church’s”.  My husband and I while dating attended an evening service at the local “happy church” to see what the hype was about.  We didn’t care for the full on band and feeling like we were at a concert and we didn’t care for the casual dressed pastor who was preaching in sandals.  We also noticed we walked out feeling really good about ourselves.  Now, there is nothing wrong about feeling good about yourselves, but we realized we go to church to learn and appreciate feeling condemned about things we have done or do.   For a better example going to that church is like getting a comforting “There there, just don’t do it again…you want a treat?” compared to a firm disciplining that really makes you think twice  before doing something again.

9a29f256ed66dddf99db6b12ea4c1d71

Now maybe it’s my age and being almost 30 now, I have hit a new maturity level or something, but I don’t agree with casual dress in church.  What happened to “Sunday Best”?  We are going to God’s house and we should look our best.  We wouldn’t go to the White House for dinner and show up in jeans and a tshirt, so why would we do that for God?  My husband loves dress clothes lol, he won’t show up without a tie.  Now I bet your wondering how any of this involves my brother, right?  Well, I’m about to tell you.

d11af6487fbac971de7b994d1a997ec5

While at the zoo my brother somehow commented about church and I said something about how small our church right now, with only a handful of families currently.  He was surprised and I mentioned some people left because we wouldn’t take “Baptist” out of the name and/or we wouldn’t change from the KJV Bible.  He was like if you want to grow your church you have to do those things.  I got very defensive in that “No we don’t”.  If people don’t want to attend our church because they don’t want a traditional church that doesn’t sugar coat anything then they don’t have to come.  Then this verse popped in my head.  ! Corinthians 15:58 KJV  Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.

367e0e370e54e4c801dcc3868d04c5c4

 

Leave a Reply

