Friendships & Faith

Romans 12:18-21 KJV

 If it be possible, as much as lieth in you, live peaceably with all men.
 Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord.
 Therefore if thine enemy hunger, feed him; if he thirst, give him drink: for in so doing thou shalt heap coals of fire on his head.
 Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.

While reading this morning my Bible and this reference popped up.  I’ve never been one to hold a grudge, I can’t stand being angry or fighting with people.  I’m always the first to apologize regardless if I’m at fault or not just so the feud is over.

Years ago when I was working in retail I had several co-workers who were gay.  We were all friends.  One girl, Jade, I even considered my best friend.  She knew I was a Christian and I had my beliefs, just as I knew she was gay.  We just didn’t judge each other for it, until I went to Chick Fil A 4yrs later.  Then she quit talking to me and when I called her to ask why she’s all the sudden avoiding me, she was furious telling me I didn’t “support” her.  I explained to her I never did agree with her choices, but it’s not my place to judge.  That was the end of our friendship.  It’s funny though because the other gay people at work all eat at Chick Fil A all the time and even said just because Chick Fil A doesn’t support gay rights they won’t boycott them because they don’t discriminate them.

Matthew 5:44
But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you;

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

