Consistency Is NOT Easy

Does anyone else feel like all they do is discipline their kid(s) all day long?  My girls are 3 and 4 and I feel like all I’m doing all day is dealing with my 3yr old.  I’m old fashioned in my parenting ways, which most people of my generation are against because they feel it’s “abuse”.  You know what my husband and I grew up getting our butts spanked and we turned out good.  We respect our elders, we are THANKFUL and APPRECIATE our parents, our pants are worn at our waist, we use “proper” English (we are a bi-racial couple, I’m white he’s black/hispanic).  We are not afraid to work hard just to make ends meat to provide for our family.  Our kids can go without the fanciest clothes, latest technology and we decided they will not have cell phones until they are old enough to pay for them.  We believe kids should play outside and use their imagination rather than sitting infront of a tv or playing on a tablet or gaming system all day.

Proverbs 13:24 KJV – He that spareth his rod hateth his son: but he that loveth him chasteneth him betimes.

Going off this verse we REALLY love our daughter!  LOL She is stubborn to the extreme and if you say don’t do that she will look at you with a bold face and do it anyways.  Our newest “battle” is kicking.  Last week she got mad at Grandma and tried to kick her.  There have been many warnings that you do NOT kick anyone.  Today my 4yr old was laying on the floor playing with her ponies and my 3yr old decided to just kick her in the head and was laughing about it until she realized her butt was about to get it.  I never discipline if I’m angry because that’s too fine of a line.  I have to be calm, cool, collected.  We discuss the offense, and why it’s not ok, but today she was so proud to get a spanking.  She was bragging about it to her sister whom she kicked in the face.  So, I was like if your SO PROUD you got a spanking how about we call Daddy and let him know.  BOY OH BOY did her smile drop instantly as she had to tell daddy what she’s been up to.

I know with kids consistency is key.  I’ve tried other forms of discipline from time outs, to co-time outs, to just talking through and explaining why we don’t do this or that.  She is just soo stubborn.  I even tried a reward system for being good.  Nothing seems to affect her unless it’s daddy who dishes out the punishment, then it’s the end of the world as we know it.  Why is that?  Why do stay-at-home parents struggle with this so much?  The kids couldn’t careless what I say, but when daddy says it, they know he means business.

This week has been a major struggle for me.  I feel like all I’m doing is disciplining my child, when all I want to do is have fun with them.  I had their baby cousin over Monday, another cousin comes on Tues & Fridays to play for a couple hours, we made sidewalk chalk, we made pretzels and rolls, choc. chip cookie brownie bars and cinnamon rolls.  I’m always trying to involve them in the cooking/baking when it’s something they can help with.  It’s just so discouraging to me that she is acting out so bad right now.  I knows she’s at a testy age but she’s testing her limits a lot lately.  It’s just exhausting me.  I want to hide in a room and cry.

My 4yr old knows I’m having a rough week and see’s how bad her sister is acting because she likes to remind that she’s being a good girl which makes mommy happy.

I can see where moms would just give up and let their kids just do whatever, because it’s easier to walk away and turn a blind eye to the behavior.  I just can’t do that.  My kids will grow up to be well-behaved members of society.  They will be educated to high standards then the public school system as well.  They will not use common core math at all.  They will respect elders use terms such as “yes ma’am” and “yes sir” they will call adults by Mr. & Ms/Mrs. We are raising them the same way (with some modifications) of how our parents raised us.  I heard this song a few weeks back.  So true!!!  CLICK HERE!

Just for the record I don’t like the idea of using a belt, we personally don’t.

Leave a Reply

