Nope, Not Gonna Happen

So last week was the first time my mother-in-law had all 5 of the grandchildren together.  She wanted to get pictures done of just the grandkids and then 4 generations type photo of the guys.

WHAT A NIGHTMARE!

It will be a long time before I attempt to let someone else take my kids photos.  My girls are 3 & 4 and they got overwhelmed very quick.  My 3yr old how loves posing for pictures pretty much shut down until we ended the session after 2hrs of attempting, then she was “ready to start over” but it was too late.  My 4yr old was good til the end and then she started to shut down.

I don’t know who thought this was a great idea.  I mean you have a 7month old, 2.5, 3, 4, and almost 8yr old for pictures.  Am I the only who knows that toddlers and infants are VERY hard to photograph without having 2-3 photographers and 6 adults crowding around talking all at once?   I was on the verge of breaking down, it was very overwhelming.    I took my 3yr old to the bathroom to give her a pep talk and wipe her face up and get her calm and in the process I started to cry.  I get why she shut down, it was too much to handle.  I have anxiety when I’m in a crowd and feel so out of control of everything around me.

My husband and I pretty much do all our own photos of our girls.  We take them to metro parks and such and let them run and be free and catch the most amazing shots of them in their natural element. I think if we did something like that it would have went sooo much better.  Let them all (well not the baby) have a sucker and the smiles will come instantly.  I personally don’t like studio photos anyways.  It feels to fake to me.

So glad to get that off my chest lol.

Leave a Reply

