My Hero is Coming Home!

I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again,  my brother-in-law, Micah, is my hero.  He’s only been my brother-in-law for close to 5 years however, he’s been my friend and big brother for over 20!  I had a crappy relationship with my own brother growing up and Micah was there.  He would always introduce me as his little sister to everyone, mainly for the look on there faces because he is black and I am white.  My memories of him make me smile, and then they made me a little sad also, because the Micah I’ve known and loved for so long is not the same person these days.

Micah joined the United States Army in 2008, he was infantry.  Over the course of the past 8 years Micah spent the majority of that time in the Middle East fighting for our country.  He did 3 tours of duty on the front lines.  God really heard our prayers and spared his life many times.  He’s had everything from missiles blowing past his head to his tank hitting an IED.  Like most soldiers who’ve been in combat, he came back not the same person he was when he left.

My big brother has a lot of health problems now.  They range from hearing loss to back problems to PTSD.  He received a medical discharge and had his official last day of duty last week.  His wife has told me not to expect the same Micah I knew before because he’s changed so much.  It’s heartbreaking to hear this because he has 6 siblings that have so many memories and know him to be a certain way and he’s not that same person.  Though they all will learn and adjust to the new Micah happily because we’re all just so happy he’s home, safe and sound.

American Soldier

Micah doesn’t talk much about what he’s experienced in combat with people.  His wife told me he talks to her grandpa about it as 1 soldier to another, but he’s been talking to my husband who is his older brother, about it too.  It really means a lot to my husband that his little brother has that trust and connection with him to want to open up and talk about the things he saw.  Even though he has a long road ahead of him working through the PTSD, he’s made the decision to go to school and become  a counselor for other soldiers/veterans going through the same things he is going through.  He wants to help them and use his personal experiences to do so.  I just think that is so awesome!  So many people don’t understand PTSD or how it affects a person.

My brother-in-law is coming home!!!  I haven’t seen him in just about 4 years.  I went to Fort Knox in April of 2012 with my in-laws to go see him 1 last time before he left for Germany and to get pictures of our kids together.  I’m so excited, literally jumping up and down.  My brother is finally coming home!  I wish he was moving back here, but I’ll take what I can get lol.  My excitement isn’t just for my brother-in-law, I can’t wait to see our nephew and FINALLY meet our niece!  There is so much to do and sitting on my butt typing this blog lol.  I have to get my house deep cleaned and spotless, endless amounts of laundry and plan a surprise party for Micah.

Well, I guess I should take all this excitement and use it to fuel my cleaning!

He’s home… He’s done… No more worries… *sigh of relief*

Leave a Reply

