Taco Night

As part of working towards eating healthier in our home.  Taco night is pretty much a weekly deal around here.  So to start making it a bit healthier I started making my own salsa and my own taco seasoning.  I didn’t tell my husband so I could get his opinion afterwards.  Sometimes if I tell him I tried something new, he’s to scared to try it. lol

So he gave me his approval on these recipes.  Now my taco night, I like to go all out, we do tacos, re-fried beans w/jalapenos, cilantro & lime rice, chips & salsa, corn salsa.  I will post my recipes below for the seasoning, salsa, and rice.  The re-fried beans I still get from a can, I’m not familiar with beans yet, so I’m going to be teaching myself on how to make those also.  I also do either shredded chicken or ground turkey.  Trying to reduce the amount of red meat that we eat.

Taco Seasoning (this is the basic recipe for 1.5lbs of ground turkey)
3 teaspoons Onion Powder
1/2 teaspoon Sugar
1 teaspoons Oregano
1 teaspoon Garlic Powder
2 teaspoons Paprika
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 Tablespoons Chili Powder
1/4 cup water (give or take as needed to mix)
Now this recipe makes the meat a darker color than the packets of seasoning you get in the store.

My Salsa Recipe
6 Roma Tomatoes diced
2-3 Jalapeno’s diced
1/2 red onion diced
Cilantro leaves
Garlic to taste (I’ve used minced and powder both taste the same)

Corn Salsa
1 bag frozen corn defrosted
2 jalapeno’s diced
1/2 red onion diced
Just mix together 🙂

Cilantro Lime Rice
I use long grain rice, I cook per the directions on the bag and then add cilantro and the juice of 1 (more if making double batch) lime and add in cilantro leaves and mix it together.

I also buy sour cream, Mexican shredded cheese, and taco sauce 🙂

If I’m doing my shredded chicken tacos then I boil the chicken to get a quick cook on it and then dump the water the out and add in my homemade salsa and 1/2 batch of my taco seasoning then cook it over low heat for 4-6 hours shredded up and presto!  This recipe I did exploring something different for taco night and was a big hit with my husband.

Leave a Reply

